Anywhere but Here…

Do you ever feel like you are having one of those days, weeks, or months (okay..sorry about the sounding like I am singing the theme song to Friends) where you just want to hit the pause button on life?  Or take a break from everything and go somewhere…really go anywhere that is not your current here?!  Yea, you are not alone my friends.  The last week (or maybe month…) has been like that – not in a constant state, but it is weighing on me.  It is time for a vacation.  Time for some own self planning to get this show on the road (both figuratively and literally).  I would love to be able to wake up on a Thursday morning and throw on a casual look – not every Thursday, but on this Thursday I sure did – nonetheless I put on my slacks and sweater with heels and head into the office.  Office fashion can be fun, but it feels so limiting and restricting sometimes.

Life by no means is falling apart – it just has felt heavier as of late.  Maybe it is the whole season changing and the carefreeness of summer is long gone and more of reality is setting in for others?!  I am not sure – all I know is, a little breather would be great right about now.  Students always get a fall break, why can’t office people get a mandatory fall break?!  Now that would be a great idea.

What do you do when you need a break from your here, but don’t really have time for a getaway?  How do you keep your work fashion interesting and fun?  Where would you go if you could go anywhere?

Much love,

B

7 thoughts on “Anywhere but Here…

  1. When I need a break but can’t get away, I am intentional about using the weekend to do stuff I enjoy and relax – like reading, running, baking, etc. If I could go anywhere, I’d go to Greece and Italy. Some day!

    I am fortunate to work in an office that doesn’t really have a dress code. Most people wear business casual but plenty of people wear jeans, tennis shoes and regular t-shirts. I try to do business casual everyday but if I feel like wearing a sweatshirt, I wear one of my nicer ones with khakis and a dressier tank underneath. I also think that wearing different patterns together and layering helps to create new outfits when you’re stuck in a rut. But I am by no means an expert!

  2. ❤ your blogs girl 🙂 You should come down and join me in Mexico in Nov. (if Akumal is still there that is after today's hurricane) – I'll be there Nov 16-28. Today Jonny Kest in class said that with seasons changing, our breath also changes. In the fall our breath becomes deeper. We reflect more. Yesterday was Moon Day (in the yogi world) which signifies Fall. Start thinking of your costume for Tuesday!! See u then! Much ❤ — JJ

  3. As of late, with the season change, I have been able to escape with some putting on sweats, lighting some candles, and drinking a cup of “Cold Season” tea from Yogi 🙂

    If I could go anywhere it would definitely be anywhere but here–not sure where though–maybe hole-up somewhere away from reality.

  4. You are so right. I’m beginning to feel that too. It always happens with the season change. I planned a vacay for mid November anticipating this feeling right before the holiday rush but I know I’m going to be dying for another come end of Jan/Feb.

    Can you escape somewhere for a while?

Leave a Reply

