They Say It’s Your Birthday…

…it’s my birthday, too!  That is right, as of 10:30 am central standard time, I turned 26.  I always think birthdays are weird because one, they mark the end of the year you turn (so I am marking the end of my 26th year of my life and beginning my 27th) and two, attention is on you for nothing you have actually done – it can feel weird, but at the same time most of us usually like it, too?!  I always feel bipolar about my birthday.  I have felt loved this year by my dear friends.  They threw me a surprise party on Friday and I loved walking in to my home filled with people I love – I even had a friend drive in from out of town for the party – basically, I have great friends.  And they didn’t have a traditional birthday cake for me – no, instead I had a plate with candles melted into it and macaroons staked like a mini cake (made by my amazingly talented roommate, Karyn).  It was a fun night, and there are a few more fun nights ahead to keep this celebration going.  Starting with after this long day of work, going out to The Bachelor Farmer with a few of my girlfriends.  It is this great new restaurant in the North Loop that I have been wanting to try for awhile now, so why not go when we have a reason to celebrate?! If I have to get older, I might as well use it as an excuse to get dolled up and party with the people I love.

How do you feel about your birthday?  Do you like to stretch out the celebration?  For those of you that have lived age 26, how is it?! 

Much love,

B

11 thoughts on “They Say It’s Your Birthday…

  1. Happy birthday, lady! I hope you have an absolutely delightful time with friends at The Bachelor Farmer tonight!

    As for how long I celebrate for, I think it is perfectly fine to have a week filled with observances. It’s the best excuse to see all of your favorite friends!

  2. Happy birthday!!! Glad you get to celebrate with friends – wish I was there to celebrate with you!

    I love celebrating my birthday and use it as an excuse to make Travis watch chick flicks and do things he would normally be opposed to. “Hey. It’s my birthday – I get to decide!” ENJOY!

  3. Pingback: It’s a Date Night… | B. in the Know

Leave a Reply

